Who We Are

Founders Mark and Sandra Ward have been involved in international education since 2005. Today, they oversee the Newfoundland International Student Education Program (NISEP). What started with two German students staying in the province for the first time, is now home to more than 250 students annually. Those small beginnings laid the foundation for us to become the largest International Education Program in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Proud Member of

What We Do

Our mission is to foster an educational, fun, and culturally diverse experience for everyone, so international students and their host families can learn and grow together. Every student gets the opportunity to immerse themselves in the English language, both at home and at school. We manage our own Homestay program and match students with host families based on shared interests and goals, to ensure everyone feels right at home. And our involvement doesn’t stop when the school year ends – we make every effort to be available and responsive both pre- and post-trip for students, agents, and host families. It’s one of the things we’re known for. 

250

Students
Annually

From Over

30

Countries

From

Elementary

To

High School

2020

StudyTravel Award for
Excellence in International

Education

Finalist

We strive to make this process as easy and comforting as possible for parents as well, which is why our commitment to student safety sets us apart. It guides everything we do, from the people we choose to work with, the activities we organize, and so much more. We want NISEP students to stretch their wings and enjoy their independence during their time abroad, and we are confident they can do so through our programs safely. 

Overall, we love what we do. This experience is not only rewarding for the youth and families involved, but for us as well. We still get excited every year when new and returning student applications start to come in – knowing impactful memories and lifelong bonds will soon be made. We look forward to meeting you, too! 

Our People

  • Mark Ward

    Executive Director

    +1 (709) 728-6833mark.ward@nisep.ca
  • Nick Ward

    Assistant Director

    nick.ward@nisep.ca+1 (709) 727-9285
  • Jeanette Gosse

    Admissions & Administration

    +1 (709) 325-7863jeanette.gosse@nisep.ca
  • Arlene Breen

    Homestay Coordinator/Acting Homestay Manager

    +1 (709) 728-1381arlene.breen@nisep.ca
  • Christine Power

    Homestay Coordinator

    +1 (709) 597-9838christine.power@nisep.ca
  • Annette Osborne

    Homestay Coordinator

    +1 (709) 746-1259annette.osborne@nisep.ca
  • Eunjung Cho

    Homestay Coordinator

    +1 (709) 769-4276eunjung.cho@nisep.ca
  • Tara Bolt

    Homestay Coordinator

    +1 (709) 746-9824tara.bolt@nisep.ca
  • Chantell Van Zuylen

    Homestay Coordinator

    +1 (709) 425-0395chantelle.vanzuylen@nisep.ca